Home > First Lessons > There’s a Reason Some Wines are Popular

There’s a Reason Some Wines are Popular

December 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

One of my first memories from traveling the road to wine comfort was a misconception. I had a lot of words in my head, mostly varieties of grape. I knew that they were types of wine, but for some reason I had gotten the wrong idea about what they meant. Here’s an example: I thought Cabernet Sauvignon was a cheapo wine that no one wanted to drink. When I learned that it is actually one of the noblest grapes in the world, and plays first fiddle in some of the finest wines ever produced, my entire perspective shifted. As close as I can now reckon, I had tried it a few times (sometimes out of a jug) and remember that I had seen it on so many wine lists and bar chalkboards, I figured it just couldn’t be good.

And so I learned to forget what I thought I knew about wine. I figured that any preconceptions that did not come from a trusted source, or from the scientific method, were invalid. Suddenly, the subject was new again, and approachable. My old comment, “I can’t learn about wine”, did not come from a trusted source, and I certainly didn’t test it as a hypothesis.

Breakthrough!

Categories: First Lessons
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

